I’m certifiable…

So one of those things every parent faces is the fear of their child choking and not being able to do anything about it. Whether it’s a fear because of a lack of knowledge of what to do, being frozen into inaction, or just Fear in general, I believe every parent feels it at some point. For some it’s a constant worry, and others simply have it creep into their heads when their baby starts eating puffs or Cheerios for the first time. Sure, instinct would kick in, but if you don’t know what you’re doing, how do you know you’re doing it right?

So what do you do? I decided the only logical thing for me to do was face that fear and learn what medical science tells us to do… I took a CPR/AED class.

Pretty much everyone knows what CPR is. 30 compressions on the chest (to Staying Alive or – somewhat ironically – Another One Bites the Dust) and 2 breaths (although I bet within a few years the breaths go away in favor of more compressions), and repeat. AED stands for Automated External Defibrillator, and is a pretty awesome and fairly foolproof device. They make different pads for children and adults. You can read about it on the interwebs.

So, work offered to pay for the class and I jumped at the opportunity. I should mention here that I’m also on our Emergency Response Team at work. I’ll be assisting 4 others on my floor in getting people out of the building in case of disaster. I know, I know… it’s like I’m a real adult or something. It’s weird for me, too. But here I am, all grown up and pretending to be totally being responsible.

Anyway class was had, class was passed and I am certified!

You can trust me with kids and drunk people.

Go me!

I highly encourage everyone to take the time to become CPR/AED Certified. It’ll take an afternoon, and it might just save a life one day.

1 Comment

  1. barry lide said,

    September 17, 2010 at 5:46 pm

    I am very proud of you. You just never know. Sorry if I had anything to do with that fear of choking.What a great dad you have turned out to be. Go figure!!!


Leave a Reply

