Hey neat.. I’m published. (sort of!)

So in May of 2009 I was contacted on Flickr by a woman named Stefanie. She claimed to be the editor for a guidebook publisher called Museyon, and she was asking permission to use this photograph in a blurb about Calicounty and Merle Haggard. She claimed they were a new company and their print runs were small and they had no budget for photography. And of course, what’s a guidebook without photographs? Boring, that’s what and I couldn’t let that happen! I was, of course, skeptical of her claims, but certainly amenable to her request. Usually people just steal from your flickr streams, and here was someone actually contacting me about one of my photos. I admit I was excited, even if nothing ever really came of it.

But then, this wasn’t the first time someone had asked to use one of my photos. I took a rather poor photo of Sombrero Key Lighthouse in 2006 that is still used on this page of lighthouses (scroll down to Sombrero Key). So I knew that sometimes these requests are legit, and you gain +2 Internet cred and a little exposure. (It also makes me wonder what lighthouse enthusiasts think when they follow that link and eventually come across me and my friends drunk in a bar dressed as pirates….)

So anyway, that was May. The book was to be released in September and honestly I kind of forgot about it. Towards the start of November I happened to get a flickr mail and saw the old messages from Stefanie still sitting in there, so I sent her a message asking if their project happened and wishing them well on it. Yes, I wanted my name in print, but more importantly, I wanted to see two things: 1) Did my email actually go anywhere this time, and 2) Did some people who obviously feel passionate about something make their dream a reality? As it turns out, the answer is yes and yes!

Stefanie responded that a copy of the book should ship within the week (wow!) The book was slightly delayed, but it’s published and appears to be the 4th book from Museyon. You can see their website here. The hard-copy of the book retails for $17.95.

And today (well, yesterday really, but I checked the mail today) I received my copy of the book!
Stefanie's note on the front
and this is my little photo: Sorry for the quality. My scanner was on sale.

So yay! Museyon is well on their way to carving out a great little niche for themselves, and amateur (or lucky) photographers like me get to help along the way. How cool is that?

2 Comments

  1. vfc said,

    November 30, 2009 at 11:27 am

    omg. the envy burns. it buuuuuuuuuuuuuurrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrnns. hooray for travis.

  2. Elizabeth Howell said,

    November 30, 2009 at 11:35 am

    Travis, that’s really really awesome that that picture got printed. It is a really good picture too. So I guess technically, since they are selling the book, that would make you a professional photographer… Theoretically anyway. Congrats!


Leave a Reply

