A Very Thunderdome Thanksgiving IV

This year was the 4th year that we’ve celebrated Thanksgiving in MLK Jr. Park, or as it’s occasionally referred to, “Everybody deserves to eat day.”

This whole thing started 4 years ago through our friend Thom who basically said, “I’ve finally found myself in a position to do something I’ve always wanted to do which is feed people who need it. Lets all do this and spend Thanksgiving together. Everyone should have a place to eat and people to eat with.”

It wasn’t (and isn’t) just about feeding the homeless (although we certainly do), but also about giving people who might not have family in town, or might not have family at all, a place to go and people to spend time with. We all agreed it was a great idea and he’s been at the lead ever since.

This year was the biggest to date. I counted what we had left, and of the 100 plates we started with, there are now 12. That’s 88 meals served. Of course by the end we were down to tea, water, biscuits and pie, but we loaded people up on food in any fashion we could. Our goal is always to run out of food and we did – in record time. That’s both amazing and scary. We’re going to have to keep growing this to keep up with what we want to do, which is always serve more people. Thank you to everyone who helped us this year. Also know that if you’re reading this, around the first week of October 2010, we’re coming after you to ask you to contribute to the cause again, or for the first time. Thanks in advance 🙂

Not to mention this year we also had a football to toss around, and I got to introduce people to the fun that is the Foxtail.

So this year… What am I thankful for?
I’m thankful I’m employed again.
I’m thankful that Meg is healthy and the pregnancy is progressing so well.
I’m thankful for a happy, healthy, loving (and growing) family.
I’m thankful that I have so many close, kind and giving friends.

I hope your Thanksgiving was as fun and rewarding as ours was.

For more, see my flickr stream: GOBBLE GOBBLE GOBBLE

xoxo

5 Comments

  1. Meg said,

    November 29, 2009 at 8:00 pm

    Are you thankful I have been using my soothing voice lately??

    • Travis said,

      November 29, 2009 at 8:03 pm

      More importantly, as evidenced by your photo here, you’ve been wearing those ribbons in your hair.

      • Meg said,

        November 29, 2009 at 9:07 pm

        Anything for you, babycakes

  2. Colonel Smarty said,

    November 30, 2009 at 11:16 am

    I’m thankful for the coincidental confluence of macaronis and cheese. I think next year we should just have a mac and chee tasting party.

  3. barry lide said,

    December 2, 2009 at 5:18 pm

    Greaat blog and great pictures. Yall all did a kind deed to so many who needed it. I too am thankful for all the things you are. I will be happy to help next year. xoxoxo


Leave a Reply

