Baby Showers And The Cat Ate My Flowers

As I sit here and eat my breakfast of delicious little ham sammiches it occurs to me I should write a bit about my baby shower yesterday. It was held at Tracey’s house with lots of help with food and set up from Travis’s mom, Heidi and Brooks. And it was fantastic. (And not just because of the little ham sammiches, although that helped.)

There were friends and family and new friends and good food and good times. I thoroughly enjoyed myself and I hope that others did as well. Not to mention we got some fantastic new things for the baby. This was my first shower of any kind so the whole idea was just beyond what I would have imagined. There are pics to a lot of what we got on flickr. (Although not all the clothes- and at the risk of sounding too girly and squealy- we got some really super cute clothes.)

We got a breast pump from Travis’s mom which was super cool. Wait- can I talk about breast pumps or is that too creepy?? Eh, it is character building for those of you who are uncomfortable, I suppose. Quite frankly, I am a little intimidated by it yet and have not really put it together. But I did take it out of the box and check it out. And it is snazzy- That Medela does not mess around. In addition to the pump I also got some accessories and bags so that I do not have to rough it like Tracey and use Ziplocs.

We got a Boppy and a Boppy cover. These are supposed to be very important. We have no kids so we don’t really know but that is what we hear. And we hear a lot. It is cute and purple and I love it. Travis picked out a baby bouncer at Babies R Us for the registry and we also got that. He has already put it together and it is super soft and pretty. We also got gift cards which will be great for later when we realize we forgot to buy something really important like first timers do. Or when we realize that in 2 weeks we have gone through our ridiculously giant stack of diapers that we thought would last us a year and a half.

Both Travis and I are very lucky to have dads who are incredible talented woodworkers. In keeping with family tradition for both of us, our dads have built/are building bassinets for the new grandbaby. Our child will never lack for a place to sleep. This is good- because both her parents love a good nap. We figure we have our bedroom and the living room with the two bassinets. We received the bassinet that Travis’s dad built and it is beautiful. I look forward to filling it with something besides a loud, orange cat.
IMG_0464

3 Comments

  1. tracey lide smith said,

    November 10, 2009 at 12:18 am

    hahahhah….Hammies are good. Baby showers are fun. I sent a gift receipt..if you hate the clothes i picked out…and two bassinets are better than one….and watch the cat. It will steal the babies breath..(bwhahahahaha).
    …glad you were here. Glad i got to be your first shower..and thank you for giving me another baby girl niece to love…

    tray

  2. mynx said,

    November 10, 2009 at 11:42 am

    Listen.

    Let me give you a tip. Don’t remove tags and wash all the baby clothes in preparation for Monkey’s arrival, because you NEVER EVER can tell in advance if the clothes will be seasonally appropriate when Monkey is appropriately sized. Returning/exchanging is much easier if the tags are still attached.

    Wash when ready to use!

  3. Brooks said,

    November 21, 2009 at 7:20 pm

    I surely enjoyed myself at your shower! I’m not sure about baby-like-type things either, so goodness knows all I can do is make foods for the adults & buy gift cards that are used at the adult’s discretion. I can’t wait to meet my sweet little cousin next year, I hope she & I will become fast friends 🙂 see you at Christmas, hope you’re all fat & sassy by then!


Leave a Reply

