Preperation for Childbirth

Ok, well Travis and I have both officially ‘passed’ our big Preperation for Childbirth class. We were both pretty sure it would be kind of lame and not very useful (we both just wanted the tour of the birthing center) but it was not bad at all. Outside of the very awkward moment where I finally realized that the nice girl next to me (her partner was absent the first night, to be fair) was in fact having a baby with my ex boyfriend. Haha. What are the chances??

Our teacher was a very nice nurse who did not push her agenda on the class which was a pleasant change of pace. I think many of the home birthers had us convinced that hospitals strap you down and pump you full of drugs to give birth and the hospital birthers had us convinced that you and your baby will suffer horrible complications if not properly supervised. We are relieved to know that neither are really true.

The whole ‘swine flu’ thing was pretty wild. There are intense restrictions in place for visitors and strong suggestions to really limit visitors at your home. At this point (and it is not even winter!) there is only one visitor allowed at a time (outside of the father) and that person must wear a mask at all times. I think Travis and I have decided that we will just send out pictures of the kid everyday until June and have no guests. Apparently at six months their immune systems are much stronger and then we will have a ‘sip and see’ so everyone can meet the baby!

Haha, ok, I am kidding.

Mostly.

3 Comments

  1. October 11, 2009 at 5:01 pm

    Ooooh… very awkward! I can tell you that I tried using the techniques that were taught, but at about 4-5cm those flew right out the window along with any modesty I had. I hear that some are able to use them quite affectively, but I either didn’t listen or was thinking “Oh My God, this is really not happening!!”

    Good luck with them and I hope that since Travis was able to go with you (unlike your brother was with me) maybe you’ve got a better chance. 🙂

    I know you’ve probably heard all the suggestions of keeping your hands washed, Lysol, bleach, hand sanitizer, not going to public places, etc etc, but it’s really not an overkill. I think we’ve had a couple of pregnant mothers die here locally in the last couple of months. Keep yourself healthy!!!

    I haven’t checked your FB page, but you are going to have to put up some preggo pictures soon ya know!

  2. Sox said,

    October 23, 2009 at 12:13 pm

    you guys are slackin’ on the updates

    you get a job and suddenly have no time to post crap on the internets

    • Travis said,

      October 23, 2009 at 1:23 pm

      I’m actually writing two updates right now!


Leave a Reply

