… but I own all these ties…

So it appears I’m unemployed no more! An official official* offer has been made and it looks like I have a new job. YAY!

I’m shy on the details at the moment, other than it will be Monday-Friday. There is a pager rotation I’ll be on every 7-8 weeks, but they give you a half day off the following Friday to compensate. They’re big on team building projects, and once a year the entire company shuts down to do community service, which really makes them pretty awesome in my book. Oh, and I will have benefits. w00t!

I will be working for Edens & Avant in downtown Columbia supporting Help Desk calls, largely for in-house proprietary software. In some ways this will be the most corporate job I’ve ever had due to the size of the company and the nature of their business (mostly large commercial developments anchored by food chains like Publix, Bi-Lo, Harris Teeter, etc…). And in other ways one of the least corporate jobs since it appears I will not be wearing a tie and they have a foosball table in the middle of their office. How cool is that? (Also, who knew there was a whole website dedicated to nothing but foosball tables?)

* I first got this news yesterday. I called my parents to let them know and Meg and I planned our celebration dinner. But then about an hour and a half later there was some question about whether or not they had really offered me the position. It’s a long story, but it seems they had expressed potential interest in me, but like a game of telephone, by the time that information had passed through 4 different people the potential part had been dropped and I was under the impression an actual offer had been made. That wasn’t exactly the case. Consequently yesterday wasn’t quite the “HAPPY JOY” time I thought it may have been.

It was kind of like being really excited on a roller coaster and making the “Oh I sure hope the track’s complete on the other side of this hill!” joke only to find out the track isn’t complete on the other side of that hill, and you’re about to plummet to your death, so you have to drink all the beer in the house really quickly and pass out in the dining room.

Meh… you know what I mean.

But today we’re 100% sure the offer has been made. I have a job.

And that’s the update for today.

xoxo

5 Comments

  1. tracey lide smith said,

    September 29, 2009 at 6:54 pm

    WOOT!!!!!!!!
    I am so relieved. and all this since lunchtime?…WOW.
    So..when do we start?..I mean you.
    when do YOU start.
    πŸ™‚
    tray

  2. Debra said,

    September 29, 2009 at 7:21 pm

    I am so very happy for you, Travis! And since you will be working downtown, you and I can meet for lunch sometimes πŸ™‚ Congrats and good luck!

  3. Brooks said,

    September 30, 2009 at 11:03 pm

    oh YAYAYAYYAYAAAAAYYYYYYY!!!!! this is very cool, and I am *very* happy for you πŸ™‚

    wow, Trav the corporate daddy… in bedroom slippers… who’d have thunk this scenario up?!

    I like this!

    love to you & *your girls* ❀
    brooks

  4. Sox said,

    October 2, 2009 at 5:11 pm

    Congrats!


Leave a Reply

